Community Recognition Dinner

For exemplifying the theme “Incarcerees to Educators to Community Contributors,” Dr. Aggie Idemoto, Dr. Mitsu Kumagai, Patricia Nakashima, Judy Niizawa, Dr. Roy Takeuchi, and Itsuo Yokota were honored at the 12th Annual Community Recognition Dinner, which was held on Saturday, November 7, 2015 at the San Jose Airport Garden Hotel. The event included the dynamic dessert dash, quilt drawing, and silent auction. 

Close to 250 people were in attendance, including Congressman Mike Honda; Margaret Abe-Koga, District director for State Assemblymember Evan Low; San Jose City Councilmember Ash Kalra; and former State Assemblymember Paul Fong.

The honorees were introduced by Joe Yasutake, Dr. Jerry Hiura, Gail Sueki, Marsha Nishi, Roy Takeuchi, Jr., and Rev. Karen Yokota. The introductions provided colorful and illuminating background to the ways the honorees helped people, both individual students and the community as a whole.

The emcee for the night was KTVU Channel 2’s Jana Katsuyama. The dinner’s co-chairs were Sharon Uyeda and Tom Oshidari.

Thank you to everyone who helped make the evening a success, including the dinner committee and volunteers, the program booklet advertisers, dessert dash and silent auction donors and table sponsors.

(by Christy Chung)